Visa Categories

Regulation (EC) No. 810/2009 – the so-called Visa Code – came into force on October 5th, 2009. This regulation has been in effect in the Schengen countries since April 5th, 2010.

According to the right of residence, the visa is an independent residence permit (Section 4, Paragraph 1, Sentence 2, No. 1 of the Residence Act). It can be issued as a Schengen visa harmonized under European law or as a national visa. The visa application is submitted to a German diplomatic mission abroad.

An airport transit visa (visa to pass through the international transit zones of one or more airports in the Member States).

C visa (Schengen visa)

A Schengen visa issued by one of the member countries of the Schengen area allows its holder free movement within the entire Schengen area in relation to the Schengen members of the European Union as well as the EFTA Schengen members until its validity and the time restrictions.

Depending on the type of visa issued by the embassy / consulate of a Schengen country, there are different restrictions that apply to the respective visa depending on the type of travel and other relevant circumstances.

Category “C” stands for a short-term visa that allows its holder to stay in a Schengen area for a certain period of time, depending on the validity of the visa. This particular category, depending on the purpose of the traveler’s trip, can take the form of:

– Single visa for a maximum of 90 days.
– Multiple visas for a maximum of 5 years.

The Schengen visa (C visa) can be applied for for various reasons:

  • Schengen visa for business trips
  • Schengen visa for private family
  • visits Schengen visa for business trips
  • Schengen visa for congresses or seminars
  • Schengen visa for tourist activities
  • Schengen visa for trade fairs
  • Schengen visa for medical treatment
  • Schengen visa for medical accompaniment
  • Schengen visa for the airport
  • transit Schengen visa for sports competitions

Single entry visa for a maximum of 90 days

A single-entry visa allows its holder to enter the Schengen area only once within the specified period, as noted on the visa sticker affixed to the passport. Once the visa holder has left the Schengen area, he cannot return, even if he has not spent the number of days there allowed by the embassy that issued the visa.

Multiple visas for a maximum of 5 years

Multiple visas in accordance with Art. 24 Paragraph 2 of the Visa Code with a period of validity of six months to five years. According to this, frequent and regular travelers whose bona fide quality are in no doubt (in particular business people, government employees, family members of EU citizens residing here or family members of third-country nationals who regularly stay in the Member States) should receive such visas if possible. This should make traveling easier for frequent travelers and reduce the administrative burden
As long as you do not stay longer than 90 days within a period of 180 days, you should be able to enter and exit as often as necessary. What is special about the Schengen visa in Germany is that it enables the applicant to enter the entire Schengen area of ​​the European Union.

Multiple entry visa requirements

  1. The applicant must prove that he is forced to travel to Germany regularly or again, particularly for professional or personal reasons.
  2. The applicant must demonstrate his integrity and reliability with regard to the lawful use of uniform or geographically limited visas previously issued to him. The economic situation in the country of origin and the intention to leave the territory of the Member States before the requested visa expires, the economic situation of the applicant and the family situation (which is important for assessing willingness to return) play an important role.
  3. A multi-year visa is usually only issued if the applicant has already provided evidence in the context of a single visa that he has complied with the permitted residence times and use for the intended legal purpose of residence. For this purpose, the applicant should first travel to Germany twice with a normal short-stay visa (valid for a maximum of 3 months) in order to qualify for the annual visa.

D visa (national visa)

The D visa is valid for long-term stays of more than 90 days in Germany. It is based on national law. They require a specific purpose of stay, such as joining your spouse, studying or starting a job, e.g. self-employment, self-employment, EU Blue Card, researcher, highly qualified person.
The D visa is usually issued for three months, but can also be issued for up to twelve months and must indicate whether its holder is allowed to work in Germany. The issuing of a national visa usually depends on the approval of the immigration authorities.

On the basis of the D visa, a German residence permit can be issued after entry. In addition to the stay and experience in Germany, the D visa is also valid for short stays in other Schengen countries.

Who needs a Germany D visa?

Depending on your nationality, you may need a visa to enter Germany, one of the top destinations for many world travelers.

Non-EU and non-EEA nationals who are over three months longer want to stay in Germany: (study, research, employment, family reunification) must prior to entry to the competent foreign mission (consulate or embassy) of the host country, apply for a national German visa or a so-called D visa. With the exception of the following citizens, citizens of other countries in the world must apply for and receive a long-stay visa before entering Germany.

  • EU / EEA / EFTA countries
  • Australia
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Canada
  • New Zealand
  • Republic of South Korea
  • the United States of America

We are a multilingual, international and interdisciplinary team. For questions or to set up an initial call, call us or send an email via our Contact form.